Come ski with us!

The Touch the Earth Outdoor Recreation Program offers five to six Cataloochee Ski and Snowboard Day Trips throughout the months of January and February. The costs of these trips are as follows: $42 – Students/ $50 –Faculty & Staff/ $55 –Guests. These prices include ski rental, beginner lesson, lift ticket, and transportation. To sign up, please come into our office during our normal hours of operation (10am-6pm Monday-Fridays, excluding University holidays).

This winter season, Touch the Earth is hosting a series of ski and snowboard trips to the Cataloochee Ski Area in Maggie Valley, North Carolina on the following dates:

Friday, February 7, 2014

Friday, February 14, 2014

Friday, February 24, 2014

Take a gander at some testimonials from past Cataloochee trips:

“I used to snowboard where there is “the best snow on earth”–Salt Lake City, Utah. I haven’t been there in 10 years and only snowboarded once in Boston. Going to Cataloochee brought me so much joy! The first time I fell quite a bit considering I used to do it more often,  [but] after…I was riding smoothly all day! I didn’t want to stop. I met some great people and I was happy to see so many giving it a try for the first time. I enjoyed connecting with nature at this level. Nature offers us so many gifts and [Cataloochee] is one of them. I remember going to the highest slope and looking at the mountain range, feeling the breeze, and I just softly said, “thank you God.” It was beautiful.

Since I’m a sound recorder, I couldn’t help but record the sound of me snowboarding. I [used] my handheld recorder and rode down a few times with it. You can hear the “swoosh” , “hiss” and “crunch” of a one of my rides at this link: http://soundcloud.com/rinaldisound/snowboarding

I hope just hearing the sound makes you want to go on the next Cataloochee trip!”

– Daniel Badi Rinaldi, Cataloochee Trip Participant 2012

Image

“Going skiing has always been one of my favorite pastimes. Something about being on top of a mountain and soaking up all the natural beauty around you at high speeds awakes the inner adrenaline junkie inside you. Nothing can describe the feeling of cold mountain air rushing past as you propel your body into new speeds. Moving from northern California to Georgia puts some restraints on the availability of skiing time, or snow for that matter.

Planning a trip can become stressful quickly. Between rental, lift tickets, and gas you can easily spend over $100 on a day trip; which is out of the question on a meager student budget.

Luckily, Georgia State University has the Touch the Earth Outdoor Recreation Program. This was my third Cataloochee Ski and Snowboard trip. Because of Touch the Earth, I am able to afford to get my ski fix and have these amazing experiences. Being surrounded by a group of people who can’t wait to fly down the mountain creates an all-star group of thrill seekers. Friends are made out of sharing a lift together and taking on the black diamond as a team. The ride home is spent hearing hilarious stories of trips and falls from your van-mates, making the ride easy and entertaining. The friendships made on Touch the Earth trips are lasting and the van rides create an exclusive group of road warriors. I can’t wait to sign up for [the upcoming] rafting trip. I guarantee [that] it is going to be amazing.”

-Nancy Anderson, Cataloochee Trip Participant 2012

Leave a comment